A Rededication

In 2012, I was running like the wind.  Every run I did was dedicated to the Lord, and while I knew I wasn’t perfect, I was giving God all the glory for what I was doing.  I don’t know why, but that ended.

I don’t know exactly when it ended, but I know why.  At some time I stopped giving God the glory and I was giving myself the glory.  It starts with people telling me over and over again that I was inspiring to them.  That they couldn’t do what I did.  My answer changed from, “God is guiding my steps” to “I really have to train a lot.”  This change doesn’t happen quickly.  To copy the line from the Christian pop group, Casting Crowns, it’s a slow fade.

The words of the hymn, Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing tells us that we all will struggle with this type of fade:

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;

Which leads me to this. . .my hope is built on nothing less than the promises God has given me.  As I lace up my shoes and step out the door, I will rededicate my running to the One who created everything of beauty I see and gives me the ability to move step by step.  I wish to be able to say:

Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.

 

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.(James 1:17)

 

Leave a Reply

